Day Trip to Berlin

Leipzig is quite close to Berlin, being only an hour and a half by train or two and a bit hours by bus. With this in mind I decided to use one of my days off to visit Berlin for the day. I took the FlixBus, which departs from Goethestraβe opposite Leipzig Hauptbahnhof/ main train station. The buses run regularly every day and you can usually get one every other hour. It was also really cheap at just under EUR 16/ GBP 14 return, whereas the train can be EUR 48 for a one way ticket.

This post is mainly for the pictures I took in Berlin, however I did quickly want to mention the place I went for brunch which was Distrikt Coffee. It is on Bergstraβe not far from Alexanderplatz, and came highly recommended both on the internet and with people I know who have lived in Berlin. Although it didn’t have the most varied menu in the world, it had some really good dishes on offer and despite being a picky eater I still had trouble choosing between a couple of different things. I finally decided to have the buttermilk pancakes which were amazing. I also had the loveliest waitress who could not do enough for me. I was so tired as I had got up early and had no sleep and so really needed some caffeine. However I absolutely hate coffee so she brought me a latte with half a shot and extra milk which I was so grateful for. All of the staff were really nice, and the food was delicious so I will definitely be visiting again. Here is a (terrible) flat lay of my brunch…

img_71391

To get to Distrikt Coffee I took the U8 from Alexanderplatz towards Wittenau and got off at Rosenthaler Platz. It’s about a 5 minute walk from the station and is located just off Invalidenstraβe. I would recommend using Maps to find exactly how to get there from the station as I went the wrong way twice. I think that might just be me though as I have absolutely no sense of direction!

 

Leave a Reply

