Best Views of Barcelona

In April I visited Barcelona with my friend Sophie for a little holiday over Easter. Barcelona is somewhere I have always wanted to visit and Spain is one of my favourite countries so I was so excited to visit. I did find it incredibly touristy to be completely honest but it was so beautiful so I can understand why (and it was a bank holiday after all). It was a great little trip and we had some fantastic weather the first two days so I felt very lucky. Eating tapas and sipping hot chocolate looking at stunning buildings and gorgeous views is definitely the best way to spend Easter weekend.

I’ve decided to do a similar post to my ‘Best Views of Vienna’ (which you can read here) for Barcelona and show you three of my favourite views. I am going to make this into a series for the cities I visit/ have visited – so if you visit any of the cities I write about you can take some great photos yourself. Next month I am going on holiday to Valencia (can’t keep away from Spain!) so keep your eyes peeled for a ‘Best Views of Valencia’ blog post soon!

This post is going to be slightly different from the Vienna post just because I am not as familiar with the transport in Barcelona as I was in Vienna (I lived there in summer 2016 and had lots of practice) so it won’t include travel instructions. However, the views I selected are from very popular places that are easy to get to or at least easy to work out how to get to! Also, because Sophie and I took this trip on a budget all of these views are free unlike in the Vienna post… well, technically! (You’ll see why I said technically soon!) Without any further ado and before I continue to ramble, let’s get on with it!

3) The view from the ‘Museu Nacional d’Art de Catalunya’ at Plaça d’Espanya

This is an absolutely gorgeous view not to be missed. When you arrive at Plaça d’Espanya (there is a metro station there so very easy to get to) if you go towards the museum and take the steps and/or escalators straight to the top you will come across the stunning views pictured below.

QQTT4721[1]Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

2) The view from the plane as you approach Barcelona

Although you have paid for your flight – with it you will get this beautiful view for free. It has to be one of the most beautiful views I’ve ever seen coming into land (pictured below) and it made me so excited to get off the plane and explore the city! I’m not sure if you can see this view on every flight path but I hope you can because it really is stunning. Disclaimer: this is a picture I found on Google (with no copyright) as when I flew in I was too busy singing along to Ed Sheeran’s Barcelona for the 100th time that day to get out my camera… easily done! It definitely looks better in real life so make sure you take the time to appreciate it without your camera before taking a quick snap.

Barcelona_port_from_airoplane_20091030_05

1) Views from Park Güell

You can pay to get into Park Güell, but if you turn up and forget to do the research like I did you will realise you have to buy your tickets in advance to get in! However, just as I thought all was lost and was about to cry as we had taken the bus all the way out for the purpose of actually going in the park and seeing the beautiful buildings – we realised you could walk around the outside and still see lots of beautiful views and most of the park! The best bit? This was absolutely free! We made our way around the park and every five minutes there was a clearing with a beautiful view. The photos (below) really do not do it justice – especially as we visited on quite an overcast day – but to the naked eye there are some gorgeous views that are definitely Insta-worthy! If you want to see Gaudi’s buildings up close I would recommend paying to get in, but if you are content seeing them from afar and still seeing some beautiful views then the free option is for you!

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset
Processed with VSCO with p5 preset
Processed with VSCO with p5 preset
Processed with VSCO with p5 preset
Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Leave a Reply

