Papas, Cleethorpes

Recently, a new restaurant opened up in one of the most iconic buildings in my town. Papas Fish and Chips took over the Pier, which has previously been both an underage drinking haven and a wedding venue too… it’s definitely had an interesting past! Both fish and chips and the Pier are synonymous with Cleethorpes so this seems to be a match made in heaven. As soon as I got back from my year abroad I wanted to try out this restaurant so a couple of weeks ago I visited with my boyfriend Adam to see what all the fuss was about.

I’d heard lots of mixed reviews about the restaurant but my experience was wholly positive. We booked a table on a Monday night so it was fairly quiet and the interior was stunning; with chandeliers and a grand piano it felt quite chic. Even the toilets were beautiful! The food took a little while to arrive but was certainly worth it when it did. For £24 we had two vodka lemonades and a medium and a large fish and chips. It was very affordable in my opinion and – most importantly – delicious.

I am a huge food snob when it comes to fish and chips as being from a town which was once world famous for being a major fishing town I still think we have the best fish and chips in the world – and because this is a chain restaurant I wasn’t convinced it would be the same. However, I thought it was fantastic and I even preferred it to the other town favourite: Steels – which is probably a controversial opinion to have! However, the staff were so friendly in Papas and could not do enough for you, and the food was so good that it is undeniably better.

If you don’t like fish and chips don’t be disheartened – Papas has a menu with other food too such as pizza and for vegetarians they offer battered halloumi too. I would definitely recommend Papas to anyone visiting Cleethorpes 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

